More About The Crucible

So, if anyone’s curious about the series called The Crucible, I’ve got a page up now explaining more about what that is.  It’s still under construction, so beware, I may go in at some point and either update the descriptions or just add new content.

As for the first book, Blue Moon (synopsis found here), I’d promised an excerpt.  Well, look no further!

It took me a while to decide what would be good to share, but if I’m going to be honest, nearly everything is subject to change with the story still being in progress.   So here’s about 500 words of the kind of messes I create in my head on a daily basis for characters to trudge through, at least, from Ashley Passmore’s point of view.  Cheers!

Cade, why do you think that pack turned me? You said a newborn can go insane from the kind of treatment I got, and I don’t think they wanted me as a part of their group. So there has to be another reason for it.”

Cade seemed hesitant, as if he knew something but didn’t want to say for certain.  He let a sigh of breath, informing her that, “I’ve got a few ideas, but I wanna be sure about them before I tell you anything.”

She bit her lip. That answer wasn’t good enough. “You don’t think I can handle it, do you?”

That’s exactly what I think. Ashley,” he said quickly to stop her from retorting when he saw the frustration on her face.

So she held her breath and bit her tongue.

Trust me on this,” Cade added more evenly. “I’ll tell you once I’m sure of what I’m suspecting. I just need to look into it.”

Though she was burning to know what he suspected, even if it wasn’t true, Ashley decided to let him have that much. However, she did ask, “Cade, at least tell me, is it bad?”

He shook his head, “Not gonna say.”

Cade!”

Ashley, don’t push it,” Cade snapped out on a warning growl.

It was a tone she hadn’t heard coming out of him yet, and for that reason, Ashley hesitated uncertainly. But he didn’t give her a chance to say anything anyway when he started explaining why he wouldn’t bend.

It’s gettin’ close to four now. So if you wanna work tonight, I’m not gonna tell you something that might set you off. You’re gonna need to focus on work and take it one step at a time. Pace yourself like you said, remember?”

Ashley looked down at the floor, realizing he was right. If he told her before work and it was bad, she’d probably concentrate on it all night long instead of on her job.

So she conceded with the softly spoken words, “All right, I’ll wait.”

Still, she wanted him to know how important it was that he tell her something whenever he could, so she let the pain of worry show in her eyes when she looked back up at him.

I just have this horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach, Cade, and it’s making me sick. I know whatever it was they had me locked up for wasn’t good. So if you can tell me anything, please don’t keep me in the dark about it for long.”

When he saw the distress on her face, she could tell he wasn’t unsympathetic. He stepped over and took her shoulders as he gently promised, “I’m not gonna keep you in the dark, Ashley. I’ll tell you everything about what I know as soon as I can. Just trust me.”

Make Your Mark

