Lore

More and more, I’ve found myself contemplating things lately which may or may not have an impact on the universe as we know it! But if I were a gambler, I’d bet against it. I’d also suggest the good people reading this do the same unless they want to go into bankruptcy. But digressing . . .

These are things I’ve personally found either entertaining, or just generally interesting, and I haven’t had a choice in wondering about them because this is the stuff I’ll be using as Lore for my stories. You know, the “why things work the way they do” kind of stuff.

Of course, as I’ve plotted and planned and just generally been immersed in a place that doesn’t exist, one of the more common questions I’ve had is “how do people go about creating their Lore?” When you write for any type of fantasy genre, particularly high fantasy where entire worlds that don’t actually exist are the setting, it’s necessary to have as much Lore as you could possibly fit on your hard drive in order to make that world come to life.

Religions, myths, legends, histories, governments, races, cultures, languages, animals, you name it, that’s what goes into the Lore. You’re creating an entire world, setting the basis of not only your story, but how the characters within it will function, what reactions they’ll have to various events, and the way in which they may perceive their environment all based on how you’ve created it.

I’m sure it all depends on the author, and as far as my own stories go, it really depends on what it is I’m writing about. For instance, I once had a dream that set off an entire universe for a science fiction series that I attempted to write before shelving the project. The Crucible, however, I’ll sheepishly admit came from too many sessions daydreaming when I was supposed to be doing something else productive.

I love the Lore of other people’s stories too. Sometimes I find more entertainment value in the history than I do in the actual story being told. For example: I don’t know how many people have played the Dragon Age games, but I’m often baffled by the amount of Lore and history the story writers and developers put into it–so much that you can’t even get a real feel for it by simply playing the game alone because too much falls through the cracks.

As for my own Lore where it concerns The Crucible, much of it’s been mapped out, and I thought of Blue Moon as being a way for me to introduce the elements of this Lore in a simple, straightforward manner, letting the readers know there’s a lot in the world that humans don’t know about, while hopefully not detracting from the actual story being told, which was Cade and Ashley’s romance.

Here’s hoping I got that part right at least!

Now that I’m working on Light of Dawn, I’m getting a chance to expand the Lore, and I’m really excited, as well as daunted by it. Creating these myths and legends is so much fun, but at the same time, it all has to flow and make sense with the types of characters portrayed.

So there’s going to be a number of things I only touched on in Blue Moon that gets a lot of explanation in Light of Dawn, which will follow the hunt for the curse box that Ulric was after–and there’s a tip off for anyone who’s read Blue Moon and is curious. So thusly let it be known that Ulric is the protagonist in Light of Dawn.

Not that I’m going to reveal his leading lady right away or anything because, you know, I like my cliffhangers and such . . . :)

Back to the topic at hand, I was curious, and this is for anyone who loves to write: how do you go about creating your own Lore? What do you find inspirational and is it hard to come up with ideas, or do they usually just pop without much effort?

Alternately, if you’re not a writer, but love to read, does the Lore sometimes hook you even more than the main story does? If so, do you think this detracts from the story being told at all, or does it just depend on what you’re reading?

As always, feel free to comment! Cheers! :)

Make Your Mark

