The Editing Blues

It’s been a while now since I made any solid “progress reports”, and I decided it was high time I said more than a few words. So hi, how’s it going? :)

My life’s a mixed bag at the moment, and sadly, the parts that aren’t going so great have dribbled into my writing as it would seem–not to any ruinous degrees thankfully, but as far as my time and concentration goes? Yep, I’ve hit a little kink there.

This has made editing the ending of Light of Dawn particularly challenging, so progress on that front is coming slowly, but still surely I’m happy to say. It’s honestly just a matter of me getting my thoughts organized and figuring out character reactions, otherwise, this story is close to completion.

Still, I’d be remiss if I didn’t say I’ve got an extreme case of “The Editing Blues”. What is the editing blues, you ask? Well, here’s a list of symptoms:

  • Feeling overwhelmed by the amount of work yet to be done
  • Uncertainty that what you’ve written so far is at all decent
  • Daunted by the thought that you’ve rewritten a scene fifty times and it still doesn’t “flow like you want it to”
  • General thoughts of “not being good enough”
  • Excessive coffee drinking/cigarette smoking where either of these habits apply


  • Not that I didn’t go through the same process with Blue Moon. All authors have this trouble from time to time, so I generally don’t let it get me down. I think it’s honestly just the situation that has it seeming “different” than before.

    I know I’ve never really extrapolated on what it is that’s “different” in my life either, so I’ll go ahead and say that I’ve had to move from my childhood home (we lived there for almost thirty years, I was maybe five years old when I moved in) to a brand new place.

    The transition has not been an easy one for me.

    If it weren’t for writing, in fact, I’m not sure I’d be able to adapt. But I can say that I’ve never tackled a writing project I’ve backed away from because I didn’t feel like I could handle it. Trust me, I’m not giving up on Light of Dawn because I’m still not sure where the light switches are or what that sound I heard outside might’ve been. (At my old house, I typically knew every sound, whether it was right outside my door, or down the street).

    In any case, I thought you guys deserved a longer update than just “Hi, checking in!”, and so, here it is!

    I wanted to get Light of Dawn out by next month, and I’m still going to shoot for that, but I’m not going to say for certain considering the kinks in my personal life right now. The one thing I can promise, however, is that the wait isn’t going to be too much longer!

    Thanks everyone for being so supportive, and as always, Cheers! :D

    3 thoughts on “The Editing Blues

    1. Have you ever gotten to that place in a book, during editing usually, when you just think, “I want to finish this crap and move on to the next idea.” Because I feel that way every single time I edit.

      • Oh god YES. I felt that way throughout the ending of Light of Dawn. I just wanted to get it done because I was SO CLOSE, and once you’ve worked on the same story for a while, it can get pretty old. But I’m such a perfectionist I had to make sure a million times that everything worked, otherwise I just couldn’t “feel right” about moving on.

        • The first book in my Rivervale series was like that. I just sent it off to a friend today (she’s writing the spin off of my series, or maybe I’m writing the spin off to hers… either way, they series are joined). I am so tired now. I just want to read books and drink tea and sleep and maybe just cry. (Uh, postpartum depression?) But I need to get off my butt and start work on Rivervale #2. *Sigh*

    Make Your Mark

    