Blog Updates · Romance · The Crucible · Writing

Lupines & Draconians – The Crucible Paranormal Romance Series

So, I decided to do some images featuring information that’s provided on on the races at the beginning of each of my stories in the preface. Then, I got silly, and decided to animate them. When I was done animating them, I thought, “Now what?”

Thankfully, the answer came pretty easily; share them here!

But more than that, I wanted to take the chance that sharing them would offer to talk more about my series and the supernatural beings featured in them. To date, we’ve seen Lupines, Draconians, Fae, Witches, Werewolves, Vampires, and with The Final Calling, Mages and Demons (or Perosian Demons anyway). I’ve taken the opportunity to expand on these beings with each book I’ve written, which has, so far, never featured the same type of being “starring” in a story twice. This doesn’t mean I haven’t planned from the beginning to go back and revisit characters from previous storylines, which I have, and will say now that, though The Final Calling hasn’t been released yet, the 6th book in my series promises to do that very thing.


Lupines were one of the first races I developed for my series. Anyone who knows me personally knows that I have a huge soft spot for werewolves (and “shifter” races in general), but I wanted to do something a little different with the Lupines in The Crucible Series. These are “mortal Werewolves” as the image states, though that’s not a very accurate description considering Lupines aren’t werewolves at all (Strange Brew really hammers this truth home). Unlike werewolves, Lupines are mortal, turn into actual wolves (though they’re a good bit bigger than the garden variety wolf), and can blend in with humans with very little trouble. Packs consider the city they dwell within to be their territory, and they typically live out their lives much like the humans they’re hidden amongst.


Draconians are also one of the first races I developed, and I have to admit, I feel like this animation is a little one-sided lol! Ulric explained in Light of Dawn that there are a total of five “Houses” (i.e., clans) that Draconians belong to, and each of these Houses were sired by one of the Great Dragons found in their home realm of Ithelyon. The reason I feel this image is kind of one-sided is that not all Draconians have abilities based on lightning. Some utilize fire, some ice, and others? Well, let’s just say it depends on which Great Dragon sired their House, and leave it at that for now :)

But I had to use lightning in this image because Ulric belongs to House Dra’Kai, Dra’Kai being the blue dragon who’s abilities pretty much encompass electricity, so it seemed fitting :)

One of the hardest things for me to decide on when developing this race was what the difference between their “normal forms” and their state of wrath was. I went through a number of descriptions before I finally settled on what we see in the books, but I knew from the start that I didn’t want them to be shifters or turn into some type of draconic creature. That kind of thing seemed overdone to me (though I do enjoy stories about “dragon people” so to speak XD), so I was hoping to keep that “fresh”.

So that does it for this post. Tune in next time when I talk about Fae, Witches/Warlocks, and the question of why I can never find what I need when I need it, but when I don’t, it’s always within reach. =|


Check Me Out!
The Final Calling is Available for Preorder! (Releasing June 3rd)
BooksThe Final CallingBox SetAbout the Author

Make Your Mark

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s